Thing 16 – Collaboration tools

A particularly interesting thing as digital media has made a huge difference in the way we collaborate.  When I first started working in libraries you would have to hold a meeting, send documents by royal mail and use the telephone if you wanted to do anything collaboratively.  As you can guess this made it very slow and tedious.  Then we moved on to the wonders of telex and later fax.  I remember having to send faxes back to the UK from Cyprus and watching as the whole system crashed as you were half way through the process, never mind the occasion a colleague dialed the wrong code and sent the document to somewhere in Japan.

Of the methods listed on the RUDAI blog site I have used DOODLE and I  really must get to grips with Google docs, usually I use Dropbox if I want to share documents with people .  I like the fact that you have templates on the  Google docs site which gives some help when starting something new.  There have definitely been times that I would have found this very useful and I think that a good use now would be when planning  YLG training days,as we all live some distance from each other and currently use email to check documents.

I am trying to think if I can come up with any other tools that I would use for collaboration and it what circumstance they would be used and nothing is really coming to mind.  Although I have just come up with another use for DOODLE.  I am a school governor and although the meetings are planned in advance we sometimes have to change or add in dates.  DOODLE might be a quick and easy way of finding out when people are available.  I would be very interested to hear what other people do and what suggestion they have for collaboration tools

One thought on “Thing 16 – Collaboration tools

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *