Thing 20 – Presentations

I really can’t remember the first presentation that I did, but I suspect that it was before some of you were born!  It might seem obvious now, but the technology that was available has changed so much over the years; some of it has been helpful but there has also been a sense that people use technology as the most important part of the presentation, rather than being just a tool.  I suspect that most of us have suffered “death by PowerPoint”, the program is extremely useful and I use it as the basis for most sessions, however, as has been mentioned on Rudai, you do have to be careful about use.  The PowerPoint should just have the bullet points that you can expand on during your presentation.  Another thing that is a bit of a bugbear for me is spelling and punctuation; it really is frustrating to sit and look at a slide where there is a glaring mistake.

Most of my presentations have been part of my work in the School Library Service running sessions for teachers and librarians but I have also undertaken training in the Public Library side of my career.  Perhaps the most scary was a presentation at the British Library about a joint use library project with a colleague from City of Bristol College; an audience made up of Heads of Service can be very daunting.

I have thought about using other methods of presentation and have had a go at Prezi in the past, I just checked and I joined in 2012 but I cannot remember when I last used it.  In fact I just had a look and found just one practice piece, which I am putting up on this blog.  Maybe now is the time to go back and try again.

Well one day later I have had a go at doing another Prezi.  I still need to become familiar with the terminology but I hope that I am getting better.  I think it will show 7 “slides” rather than 6 because there is one which is a sub-slide of another.  Anyway here is my effort.

 

One thought on “Thing 20 – Presentations

  1. That’s a great looking Prezi for a quick attempt! I love how you decided to give it another go and you were able to produce for us a lovely Prezi presentation. This is an excellent point- ‘people use technology as the most important part of the presentation, rather than being just a tool’, I’ve found myself spending too much time on the look of reports or presentations in the past and then struggling with the (good looking ) presentation because I haven’t practiced and timed myself well enough.
    Another excellent post.
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *