Thing 10 – Live Streaming

I must admit that this could be the most daunting of the modules that we are looking at.  I do have a Skype account which I use to talk to family but I have not used any live streaming in my work.  I have definitely been at events that were being streamed and that is becoming more and more popular.  This year’s Carnegie and Kate Greenaway awards ceremony was streamed but I know that a lot of people had problems with buffering, so that the pupils did not get the experience they had hoped for.This suggests that the sooner we all have high speed broadband the better.

There are definitely times at conferences that you have a really great speaker and you wish that everyone was able to listen to them. I think it is still more common for sessions to be recorded and then uploaded rather than risk the problems of streaming.  The technologies have moved forward in a dramatic fashion over the last few years but I think there is still room for improvement.

I had a look at at Periscope but I would need to think how I would use it.  There are several positives and negatives about the way it is set up and I need to think through whether there is an overall benefit.

Live Streaming is something that is going to continue to grow and particularly as it becomes more expensive to physically attend training and even to get the time out of work to do this, or attend meetings.   It is something that I am going to have to think about, especially for author events perhaps.

One thought on “Thing 10 – Live Streaming

  1. Did you get a chance to tune in to our live Rudai23 streaming on Sunday evening? If not, we have a recording of it on the blog you can view. It went well for our first attempt and will hopefull give people encouragement to try live streaming or recording. But we also had some technical issues.
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *